by

vb

Lie back and think of summers in Kiev, o cloudless sky.

Our edifices are firm but gentle lovers!

You shall not want for steel…

29 Responses to “”

  1. Ryry Says:

    Before Fluent comments on the poor translation or how it stereotypes eastern bloc countries…etc, I would just like to inform him that he needs to exchange his stupidity for a sense of humour.

    Keep up the great pics guys!

  2. oh my god Says:

    These are the funniest things I have seen on the intertubes in a long time.

  3. No Good Boyo Says:

    Дальше! Дальше! Дальше!

  4. bubbles Says:

    This site is awesome 😀 but I do still like to see the proper translations afterwards in the comments 🙂

  5. ecks Says:

    Real text reads: At this height I… I…
    I’m a mighty plane going through the sky!…
    If I have time to, of course…

  6. transplant Says:

    Yes, at this height I…I…
    I can cross the paths of airplanes.
    If I can, of course.

    he’s a black cat, bad luck getting your path crossed by a black cat.

  7. Corey Says:

    Congratulations, this is the most hilarious website of the 21st century! More updates!

  8. Harold Says:

    We, ugly Americans, sure do love to laugh – so long as its @ others’ expense. Someone hx0rz this site already. Lame.

  9. zygote Says:

    @Harold – get a sense of humor. Then take it somewhere else.

    /not an American, ugly or not.

  10. HaroldClone3 Says:

    @zygote My sense of humor is much too advanced for your feeble understanding, comrade.

    In Soviet Russia you do not get jokes, jokes get you sent to prison.

  11. Marina Says:

    Nice!

  12. JOhn Davis Says:

    Wow, are cats cool or what!

    RT
    http://www.anonymity.eu.tc

  13. Dudes McCool Says:

    This website is the smartest, best, and greatest ever.
    Laughing at someone else’s expense? Take your PSA elsewhere, Harold.
    CCCP LOL FTW

  14. thekarin Says:

    erm, yeah, the wrong translations are sort of pissing me off

  15. mnkey Says:

    @thekarin: then stop looking at the site, genius. Is anyone forcing you to? Oh, wait, in Russia they might be doing that.

  16. william Says:

    i am trying to learn russian and i like lolcats. this site is cool… i like the bizzaro xlations.

  17. Anna Says:

    I’m kind of torn on this one: it wavers between genuine charm and babelfishiness, like a skyscraper built ahead of schedule at the expense of quality of materials and labor.

  18. HaroldSuxCox Says:

    Yes, yes I do. Very much. Because I’m Harold, and that’s just how I roll.

    Don’t respond to Harold. He’s posted the same thing on every picture and is only trying to get attention.

  19. Varvar Says:

    Hey guy.

    You suck cock on this thread too? You sure do get around.

  20. Rita Says:

    Fucking brilliant site.
    You shall not *WONT* for steel…
    ftfy

  21. RUSSIAxUSA Says:

    Much better than Simcity and the tiny humans are doing everything by themselves even.

  22. Woland Says:

    Frankly, I find the original comments in Russian far more witted and funny.
    Anyway, great collection of funny photos.

  23. elayne Says:

    I can’t decide which delights me more: The fact that lolcats are so internationally/universally enjoyed, or the wickedly skewed “translations” that this site offers.

    The fake translations crack me up, but I love reading what the original captions are as well – so I offer a great big “THANKS!” to both the creators of this site, and the commentors who translate the original captions.

  24. Alex Says:

    God it’s sad to see how many of you either don’t ‘get’ the fake translations or are annoyed by them.

    Hilarious work, guys, keep it up. This one is my favorite by far. Probably because it includes “o”.

  25. MM Says:

    Yeah the translations really suck: I don’t know what do you guys have with steel and stuff ?!

  26. Annie Chen Says:

    Ahhh this one is so awesome. This site is taking Harvard by storm, guys! Nicely done!

  27. Throbert McGee Says:

    If any native Russian speakers are reading this thread, I have a question about the original caption: What does the “во” signify here?

  28. andrei Says:

    @Throbert:

    The “во!” signifies something along the lines of “voila!”, “behold!”, or “how do you like that?!”, it conveys a sense of showmanship in this particular instance.

  29. qwerty Says:

    Sorry, I feel like I have to step in. Sometimes word-to-word translation is not the best way to go – assuming that you want to deliver the message, especially if it is a humorous message. My version (accurate linguistically, too, btw) :

    At this height I… I…
    I can cross paths of airplanes, yeah!!!
    If I am fast enough, of course…

    (or “If I manage to do it fast enough”)
    a
    “Да” in the beginning… I am not sure what English equivalent would be – native speakers help needed. But certainly it shouldn’t be translated as “yes”. In this case “да” is used to magnify significance of THIS HIEGHT – one of possible ways to use “да” in Russian (just as “yet” in English can be used as replacement for “already” or for “besides”)

Leave a Reply

